Spongebob: A Loving Tribute

I’m posting part of a Divot.com story I wrote last week because, well, it’s one of the more reflective things I’ve written in a while. Divot stories are supposed to be funny and this ended up being a requiem for my adolescence. It’s a good thing it appeared on a Sunday, because that means fewer people read it.

Wilson Spongebob Golf Balls

Spongebob: A Loving Tribute

Over the years, I’ve found that it’s impossible to convert people into being fans of Spongebob Squarepants. And by “people” I mean “adults”. I don’t have any kids, so I can’t use the excuse that I became a fan by proxy. The other stereotype of Spongebob’s adult viewership, the stoned college kid, doesn’t apply either. It was all just the timing.

Read more at divot.com.

Leave a Reply

