A Brief Wondrous Stint in Fan Fiction

I was the first person to publish “Pee-Wee’s Playhouse” fan fiction on fanfiction.net. That was five years ago and maybe I shouldn’t be proud of it, but I did receive some good reviews from the few site members who discovered it in the “24” fanfic section and weren’t upset that it didn’t pertain to the adventures of their beloved Jack Bauer. The reason I hid there was because at the time, there was no “Pee-Wee’s Playhouse” category, and after no response from the editors regarding my requests, I decided that the already written stories should be published somewhere, so I stuck them in the first section listed on the site. I checked back a few days ago and now that there is a “Pee-Wee’s Playhouse” section, I requested that the stories be moved there. So while this isn’t newly published material, I consider it re-released. (You can check them out here and here.)

I should backtrack a bit. My experiment with fan fiction began and ended, like many experiments, in college. A girl in my publishing class gave a presentation on fan fiction and she must have been very persuasive, because I went in thinking that fan fiction was for obsessive, myopic weirdos and I came out thinking it could be fun to try. I’d been watching volume 2 of the “Pee-Wee’s Playhouse” DVD set and came up with two stories. It was amazingly easy to do. The character development, the settings, and the grounds for a plot are already established. It’s the feeling I imagine a carpenter gets when putting together IKEA furniture.

After the two stories, I was done. It’s true that I found it ultimately unsatisfying from a creative standpoint. But the real reason is that I can’t take it seriously. I can’t call them “fics” and refer to “shipping” and “slash” and “OTPs” with a straight face. I’m weird enough as it is. So to paraphrase the great Groucho Marx, why would I want to join a club that will have people like me as members?

Leave a Reply

